Our Beginning

Sharon Baptist Church was founded in 1920 by a group of 17 people who met in a house at 162 Throop Avenue, New Brunswick, New Jersey to organize a church. The church is now located at 25 Howard Street, New Brunswick, New Jersey. The name Sharon was chosen from the Book in the Bible:

I am the Rose of Sharon and Lily of the Valley.

Song of Solomon
Chapter 2 Verse 1

SBC Pastors

Previous Leaders

Pastor Sadler E. Lee (no picture available) was the first pastor of Sharon Baptist Church.

Succeeding Pastors:
Pastor George Wainwright (no picture available), June 1922- November 1922
Pastor Jesse L. Lee, November 10, 1922- July 24 1960
Pastor Joseph N. Patterson, May 22, 1961-February 28, 1969
Pastor Willie Bowser, March 6, 1970-February 7 1972
Pastor W. Marcus Williams, December 19, 1972- April 24, 1987
Pastor James R. Kirk, December 4, 1988- September 21, 2000

(see pastor photos and original church image above)

Recent History

Pastor Kevin Jones of Elizabeth, New Jersey accepted the call on October 23, 2003. He was credited with the expansion of the church including an educational wing that was dedicated March 11, 2007 to provide more space, more programs and better services to the members, friends and the community. Rev. Jones's tenure ended in February 2012.

In June of 2012 a search committee was appointed. In the meantime associate ministers from our church and pastors from Middlesex Central Baptist Association supplied our pulpit.

June 8, 2013 marked a new era of leadership at Sharon as the church elected a new pastor, Rev. Conway C. Johnson, Jr. Pastor Johnson began leading this flock on Sunday, August 4, 2013

Along with our illustrious pastor, our congregation will continue to carry on the work of the church with pride, perseverance, patience and prayer.